2015/16 Grant Recipients

TINA’S WISH funds grants supporting promising ovarian cancer research programs that focus on early detection methods for the disease.  Ovarian cancer is the most deadly of all the gynecological cancers.  The Foundation began funding research in 2009 and since that time the annual grants program has expanded thanks to our generous donors.  The two major funding opportunities include the Tina’s Wish Annual Grants and the Kirpalani Consortium Grant.  To learn more about how to contribute to Tina’s Wish, please click here or for more information about the grant distribution process, please contact, info@tinaswish.org.

2015/16 Grant Recipients:

Following a competitive review process five research projects were selected for funding in 2015-16. 

Dipanjan Chowdhury, Ph.D., Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Project Title:  Genetic alterations in BRCA-regulating microRNA genes as risk factors for ovarian cancer  more info

Marie-France Penet, Ph.D., Johns Hopkins Medicine
Project Title:  “Early detection of ovarian cancer with multiparametric MRI and MRSmore info

Daniel A. Heller, Ph.D., Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center & Douglas A. Levine, M.D., NYU Langone Medical Center
Project Title:  “Novel strategies for ovarian cancer early detection” more info

Ronny Drapkin, M.D., Ph.D., Penn Medicine & Jarrod Marto, Ph.D., Dana Farber Cancer Institute
Project Title:  “Ex vivo culture of fallopian tube epithelium for proteomic detection of biomarkers in ovarian cancer” more info  

Abhijit A. Patel, M.D., Ph.D., Yale Cancer Center
Project Title: “Ultrasensitive detection of tumor DNA in blood for early diagnosis of ovarian cancer” more info

Kirpalani Consortium Grant:

This unique funding opportunity brings together five world-class medical institutions in a collaborative research project. The researchers from these institutions are  sharing uniform cancer specimens and synthesizing their results. Their joint work will further the mission of Tina’s Wish to discover early detection methods for ovarian cancer. The Foundation was honored with its largest single donation received since its establishment, and transformed this donation into the Rita M. Kirpalani Consortium Grant which will support the consortium’s efforts. 

Consortium members, joined by other research teams funded by Tina’s Wish, meet annually at the Tina’s Wish Medical Symposium to share scientific results and discuss ideas to set the direction of future research.

Researchers funded by the Consortium Grant & their Teams:

Jarrod Marto, PhD, Dana Farber Cancer InstitutePrincipal Investigator
         Un-Beom Kang, PhD, Research Fellow

Marie-France Penet, PhD, Johns Hopkins MedicinePrincipal Investigator
         Noriko Mori, PhD, Co-Investigator
         Santosh Bharti, PhD, Consultant
         Zaver M. Bhujwalla, PhD, Consultant

Douglas A. Levine, MD, NYU Langone Cancer CenterPrincipal Investigator
Vance Broach, MD, Research Fellow
Petar Jelinic, PhD, Senior Research Scientist         

Ronny Drapkin, MD, PhD, Penn MedicinePrincipal Investigator

Abhijit A. Patel, MD, PhD, Yale Cancer CenterPrincipal Investigator
          Azeet Narayan, PhD, Associate Research Scientist

Alessandro D. Santin, MD, Yale Cancer CenterPrincipal Investigator
         Stefania Bellone, PhD, Co-Principal Investigator


TW Researchers 2015 (1)

Tina’s Wish Researchers at the 2015 Tina’s Wish Medical Symposium

primary researchers

Tina’s Wish Grantees at the 2015 Medical Symposium