Current Research & Grants


2017/18 Grant Recipients:

Dipanjan Chowdhury, Ph.D., Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Project Title: “Early diagnosis of ovarian cancer using serum microRNA signatures” Learn more

le-Ming Shih, M.D., Ph.D., Johns Hopkins Medicine
Project Title: “Applying DREAMing to detect epigenetic markers in ovarian cancer” Learn more

Daniel A. Heller, Ph.D., Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center & Douglas A. Levine, M.D., NYU Langone Medical Center
Project Title: “An implantable biomarker nanosensor for early-stage ovarian cancer detection” Learn more

Douglas A. Levine, M.D., NYU Langone Medical Center & Kara Long Roche, M.D., Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Project Title: “Circulating and shed biomarkers for early detection of ovarian cancer” Learn more

Ronny Drapkin, M.D., Ph.D., Penn Medicine & Jarrod Marto, Ph.D., Dana Farber Cancer Institute
Project Title: “Biomarker discovery in tissue proximal fluids” Learn More

Ronald Buckanovich, M.D. & Kathleen Cho, M.D., University of Michigan
Project Title: “Developing a novel, non-toxic ovarian cancer prevention therapy” Learn More

Charles Landen, M.D., University of Virginia
Project Title: “Detection of early-stage ovarian cancer through vaginal sampling” Learn More

Abhijit Patel, M.D., Ph.D. & Alessandro Santin, M.D., Yale Cancer Center
Project Title: “Early detection of ovarian cancer via analysis of genomic alterations in DNA and RNAfrom multiple sources in blood” Learn More

Kirpalani Consortium Grant:

This unique funding opportunity brings together five world-class medical institutions in a collaborative research project. The researchers from these institutions are  sharing uniform cancer specimens and synthesizing their results. Their joint work will further the mission of Tina’s Wish to discover early detection methods for ovarian cancer. The Foundation was honored with its largest single donation received since its establishment, and transformed this donation into the Rita M. Kirpalani Consortium Grant to the Tina Brozman Ovarian Cancer Research Consortium which will support the consortium’s efforts.  

Consortium members, joined by other research teams funded by Tina’s Wish, meet annually at the Tina’s Wish Medical Symposium to share scientific results and discuss ideas to set the direction of future research.

Researchers funded by the Consortium Grant & their Teams:

Jarrod Marto, PhD, Dana Farber Cancer InstitutePrincipal Investigator
         Un-Beom Kang, PhD, Research Fellow

Marie-France Penet, PhD, Johns Hopkins MedicinePrincipal Investigator
         Noriko Mori, PhD, Co-Investigator
         Santosh Bharti, PhD, Consultant
         Zaver M. Bhujwalla, PhD, Consultant

Douglas A. Levine, MD, NYU Langone Cancer CenterPrincipal Investigator
Vance Broach, MD, Research Fellow
Petar Jelinic, PhD, Senior Research Scientist         

Ronny Drapkin, MD, PhD, Penn MedicinePrincipal Investigator

Abhijit A. Patel, MD, PhD, Yale Cancer CenterPrincipal Investigator
          Azeet Narayan, PhD, Associate Research Scientist

Alessandro D. Santin, MD, Yale Cancer CenterPrincipal Investigator
         Stefania Bellone, PhD, Co-Principal Investigator


Tina’s Wish Researchers at the 2016 Medical Symposium

Tina’s Wish Grantees at the 2016 Medical Symposium